Black Girl Country Living
Black Girl Country Living
A New Season of Rewilding
1
0:00
-22:21

A New Season of Rewilding

1

Welcome Wild Ones

The Black Girl Country Living Podcast is back! After a year away, I’m excited to jump back behind the microphone to share reflections on rewilding, liberation, and finding the magic in the messy middle. This episode is an invitation to explore how rewilding shows up in all areas of life—from how we mother to how we build community, to how we define success.

In This Episode:

  • A breathwork grounding exercise to bring us into the present moment.

  • The rewilding journey and how it’s shifted my ideas around perfectionism, accountability, and liberation.

  • Reflections on the messy middle of life, from career choices to community building and parenting.

  • An open invitation to join me on this evolving journey—whether it’s through listening, sharing, or starting a conversation.

Rewilding Reflections from the Episode:

  1. “The garden and the land reflect back to me the ways I was, and was not, trusting myself. It showed me the dissonance between my values and my actions, inviting me into a deeper conversation about who I am and how I move through life. Rewilding, for me, has been about embracing that sacred mirror.”

  2. “Rewilding is not about arriving anywhere; it's about living in the creative, messy process of liberation. I’m learning to sit with discomfort, knowing that growth comes from these in-between spaces, where nothing is certain and everything is still in motion.”

  3. “How do we keep one foot grounded in this world and one foot in a world of potential and possibility? The systems we live within try to keep us small and confined, but rewilding is about finding the courage to step outside of those limits, even when the way forward is unclear.”

Links:

Discussion about this podcast

Black Girl Country Living
Black Girl Country Living
BGCL is a monthly podcast that explores nature as a way to connect to self, community, and the living world. Each month we dive into a new theme with stories and interviews that center the perspectives and experiences of people of color.
We believe that nature is for everyone and that the outside will guide you inward.
Dive deeper into the themes in the monthly BGCL Magazine and spotify playlists: BGCL.substack.com
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Hillarie Maddox